Boys (Friends Forever)

Boys (Friends Forever)

A FILM BY JOACHIM MORRE

Short Film – Denmark – 2021 –  17 min
Color | Danish with English subtitles | 2:1 | 5:1

SYNOPSIS

The two friends Anton and Theodor are preparing for a night out. They are young and carefree-Facing zero challenges aside of being out of booze. The mood drastically changes when their friend Simon arrives with a confession to make.

Simon persuades Anton to run to the store for alcohol as he confesses to Theodor. He has slept with Anton’ ex and he is afraid of how he will react. Things start falling apart for Simon as he anxiously awaits the return of Anton.

Cast

Johan Bech Jespersen, Rasmus Daugbjerg, Anton Hjejle

Crew

DIRECTOR : Joachim Morre
PRODUCER : Christian Lønhart (Isaac Production)
CINEMATOGRAPHY : Søren Kahr
SOUND : Catrine le Dous, Ida Skjerk, August Valentin Drenck
EDITING: Emma Lagrelius

DIRECTOR'S NOTES

With Boys, I wanted to challenge and nuance the idea of intimacy within the male friendship. It is my understanding that we as a society have a very limited idea and expectation of the behavioural patterns of heterosexual men. I want to portray an existing alternative with an ambition to push the boundaries of these expectations.

The film is very inspired by my own experience of being in a similar group of friends and I’ve ended up casting some of my best friends despite their lack of experience in front of the camera. For me, this has further fueled the authenticity of the material while creating a loving and vulnerable process in working with the performances. I know more about the dynamics in this room than I know of anything else in the world and it has been my ambition to give a naturalistic and truthful insight into the everyday life of the characters.

The plot of the film deals with mental vulnerability. During the last years, I have had personal experiences with stress and anxiety. My own mental state has been all over the place and several of my friends have had similar experiences. The film serves as a reflection of some of the dynamics that arise when somebody close to you has a meltdown. The attention and care, the precautions and the emotional consequences. I deeply sympathize and identify with every character of the film as they try to be there for each other without losing themselves.

During an extensive run of test screenings, it has come to light how embedded the preconceptions of the audience have been when confronted with the behavioural patterns of the characters. For a large part of the audience-specific behavioural patterns seem to be inextricably connected to specific sexual preferences. For us, this has only served as proof of the necessity and novelty value of the project.

Joachim Morre

DIRECTOR'S BIOGRAPHY

Joachim Morre is a Danish director/writer living in Copenhagen. For years he has been working in the genres of short film, documentary and music video and his work has been screened on various festivals such as CPH:DOX, CPH:PIX, OFF, NIFF and Leuven. Joachim is co-founder and director of the production company ’isaac’ and has a masters degree in film studies from the University of Copenhagen.

FILMOGRAPHY

BOYS (FRIENDS FOREVER) I  18 MIN I  2021

MY SISTER AND THE PRINCE I 11 MIN I 2020

STAKLER / POOR THINGS I 18 MIN I 2019

SOUND X SOUND I 2017

Add BOYS (FRIENDS FOREVER) to your list

FESTIVALS & AWARDS

Copenhagen Short Film Festival, 2021 

Warsaw International Film Festival,  2021

Boys (Friends Forever)

Boys (Friends Forever)

UN FILM DE JOACHIM MORRE

Court-métrage – Danemark – 2021 – 17 min
Couleur | Danois avec sous-titres anglais | 2:1 | 5:1

SYNOPSIS

Les deux amis Anton et Theodor se préparent à sortir le soir. Ils sont jeunes et insouciants – ils ne font face à aucun défi, à part celui d’être à court d’alcool. L’ambiance change radicalement lorsque leur ami Simon arrive avec une confession à faire.

Simon persuade Anton de courir au magasin pour acheter de l’alcool pendant qu’il se confesse à Theodor. Il a couché avec l’ex d’Anton et il a peur de sa réaction. Les choses commencent à s’effondrer pour Simon qui attend avec impatience le retour d’Anton.

ACTEURS

Johan Bech Jespersen, Rasmus Daugbjerg, Anton Hjejle

ÉQUIPE

RÉALISATION : Joachim Morre
PRODUCTION :  Christian Lønhart (Isaac production)
DIRECTION DE LA PHOTOGRAPHIE : Søren Kahr
SON : Catrine le Dous, Ida Skjerk, August Valentin Drenck
MONTAGE : Emma Lagrelius

 

Notes d'intention

Avec Boys, je voulais remettre en question et nuancer l’idée d’intimité au sein de l’amitié masculine. Collectivement, en tant que société, nous avons des préjugés très limitants quant au comportement des hommes hétérosexuels. Je veux dépeindre une alternative existante avec l’ambition de repousser les limites de ces idées préconçues.

Le film est inspiré de ma propre expérience au sein d’un groupe d’amis similaire aux protagonistes, que j’ai d’ailleurs engagé malgré leur manque d’expérience devant la caméra. Pour moi, cela renforce l’authenticité du matériel tout en créant un processus de travail empreint d’amour et de vulnérabilité avec les acteurs. J’en sais plus sur la dynamique de cette pièce que sur n’importe quoi d’autre au monde et j’ai envie de donner un aperçu réaliste et véridique de la vie quotidienne des personnages.

L’intrigue du film traite de la vulnérabilité mentale. Ces dernières années, j’ai vécu des expériences avec le stress et l’anxiété. Mon propre état mental a connu des hauts et des bas, et plusieurs de mes amis ont eu des expériences similaires. Le film est un reflet de certaines des dynamiques qui se développent lorsqu’un proche vit une crise. L’attention et les soins, les précautions et les conséquences émotionnelles. Je sympathise et m’identifie profondément à tous les personnages du film qui essaient d’être là, les uns pour les autres, sans se perdre eux-mêmes.

Au cours d’une longue série de projections tests, il nous est apparu avec certitude à quel point les idées préconçues du public étaient ancrées dans leur façon d’analyser les comportements des personnages. Pour une grande partie du public, les comportements spécifiques sont inextricablement liés à des préférences sexuelles spécifiques. Pour nous, cela ne fait que prouver la nécessité et la valeur de ce projet.

Joachim Morre

Biographie du réalisateur

Joachim Morre est un réalisateur/scénariste danois qui vit à Copenhague. Depuis des années, il travaille dans les genres du court métrage, du documentaire et du clip vidéo et son travail a été projeté dans divers festivals tels que CPH:DOX, CPH:PIX, OFF, NIFF et Leuven. Joachim est cofondateur et directeur de la société de production ‘isaac’ et possède une maîtrise en études cinématographiques de l’Université de Copenhague.

Filmographie

BOYS (FRIENDS FOREVER) I 18 MIN I 2021

MY SISTER AND THE PRINCE I 11 MIN I 2020

STAKLER / POOR THINGS I 18 MIN I 2019

SOUND X SOUND I2017

Ajouter Boys (Friends Forever) à votre liste

FESTIVALS ET RÉCOMPENSES

Copenhagen Short Film Festival, 2021 

Warsaw International Film Festival,  2021